Why Democrats Should Embrace the Electoral College

Bob Dumont
9 min readOct 28, 2020

In 2015, for the first time in 25 years, I was unemployed. The future was bleak and terrifying.

For 15 of those years I was the owner of an online retail business. Like many retailers large and small, I was no longer capable to compete with two-day, free shipping offered by Amazon Prime. My financial woes were compounded when every one of our manufacturers started selling directly to the public. Profit margins were non-existent. My crystal ball and our accountant looked into the future for what might happen in the next five or ten years. We realized things were not going to get better.

After 15 years as an online retailer and a total of 25 years of small business ownership, I was broke. Change for a middle-aged person is daunting.

For the first time in 25 years I had to look for a job and fill out a resume. I was in uncharted territory. Over those years I had scoured hundreds of resumes for new employees and was thinking now about how harshly others would judge my own experiences. I stayed up nights thinking about how far back do I take my employment history? Do I dare list the year of my college graduation? Gulp. I suddenly felt extremely old and useless. How could I compete?

A Coal Miner and the Automobile Factory

I was fortunate from a job standpoint. I was a computer programmer for 25 years. Once I focused on my skillset rather than my graduation date, I found a sense of hope. My skills were still very marketable and…

--

--

Bob Dumont

Writer. Programmer. Dad. Husband. Concerned. If I knew, I would know.