Three Funerals and A Slice of Life.

People come into your life for a reason.

Bob Dumont
5 min readSep 25, 2022
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

It was a night of laughter. The dance floor of the wedding reception shifted and swayed to match the musical rhythms of the room. The groomsmen were four brothers and a cousin. They were also my closest circle of friends.

It was the point of the wedding I had seen and been part of dozens of times. They were about to engage in a signature dance that finished with the alcohol-infused men in a single line, legs spread, and hands in the air. It was a moment included in every family album I ever saw. I was left out of the picture at this event for some odd reason.

At least, that is what they were thinking.

The groomsmen began to line up at a certain point during the song (I can’t remember which one). I knew I would be able to dive across the wood floor and slide between all their legs just as the photographer snapped the photo. Timing had to be precise. Either I would be successful, or several would have broken ankles.

I let the fates decide. That distinct beat in the song occurred and with only a few quick steps — I was off. I flopped belly first onto the dance floor and precisely skid between everyone’s legs. Without even a wrinkle in my tuxedo, I went through the tunnel of legs, jumped up, and took my place in the…

--

--

Bob Dumont

Writer. Programmer. Dad. Husband. Concerned. If I knew, I would know.