States where you are allowed to beat your wife.

And it is all the fault of Democrats.

Bob Dumont
8 min readAug 1, 2022
Are local elections optional? Think again! Photo Credit: Wikipedia commons with an edit by the author.

Roe overturned. Gun laws expanded. Fossil fuel use remains high and Trump still won. Fellow Democrats — all of this is our fault. We couldn’t be lazier or a more whining bunch if we tried.

My neighbor and friend, John, is one of the hardest-working people I know. Starting at 5:30 AM, he commutes 90-minutes to his job, works diligently, and arrives home at about seven each evening. After a quick dinner, he assists his daughter with any homework before tidying up the house. His work schedule allows him an hour to “become numb” with the news, sports, or even a movie.

On many Saturdays, we start our weekend with breakfast and an early morning chat at his home. I always bring coffee and something to eat. His kitchen table consistently has a pile of accumulated and ignored mail.

“Do you even have time to even look at all this stuff?” I asked him.

“Mail? There is nothing but junk mail! Nothing I need comes in the mail.”

Sitting on top of the heap is an oversized postcard featuring a pudgy, bald white guy with his arms folded and a somewhat wrinkled suit.

“This was probably his finest suit, don’t you think?” I chuckled.

--

--

Bob Dumont

Writer. Programmer. Dad. Husband. Concerned. If I knew, I would know.